Awards 2021

Awards 2021

The Intelligent Transportation Society of Canada (ITS Canada) recently celebated the 9 winners of the ITS Canada Awards. Watch the celebatory video at

2021 marks the 12th year of the ITS Canada Awards Program, which was originally created to better serve and profile members and young professionals and by acknowledging significant and defining people, projects, and innovations in our Canadian ITS marketplace.

ITS Canada is thrilled to recognize the 2021 winners’ contributions and achievements to the Canadian ITS marketplace and beyond,” says Usha Elyatamby, Chair of the Awards Program. 


Distinguished Member of the Year Award

Mr. Geoff Knapp, WSP 

Geoff Knapp is the recipient of the 2021 Distinguished  Member of the Year Award. Geoff Knapp, P.Eng (ON & BC) has been an active member of ITS Canada for decades bringing more than 22 years of ITS experience. Geoff is known in the ITS community as ‘Mr. Architecture’ as a result of his involvement in the development and updates of the Canadian ITS Architecture since it’s inception in 2000. Geoff has also been instrumental in supporting connected and automated vehicle initiatives in the public sector. Read more


2021 ITS Champion Award

Mr. Jonathan Darton, IBI Group 

Jonathan Darton is the recipient of the 2021 ITS Champion Award. Jonathan has lived and breathed Intelligent Systems ever since his first exposure to the Transportation arena. He has 18 years of experience in Intelligent Systems and Solutions. His experience includes engagement with many stakeholders using Mobile Applications, Intelligent Transportation Systems, Traffic Management Centres and Managing Assets. As a transformative designer, Jonathan has conceptualized solutions for stakeholders due to changes in operations mandated regionally, provincially and/or nationally.  Read more


2021 Mobility Award for Connected and Automated Vehicles

GTHA CAV Readiness PlanMTO & WSP

The GTHA CAV Readiness Plan project is the winner of the 2021 Mobility Award for Connected and Automated Vehicles. The CAV Readiness Plan for the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area (GTHA) outlines how the public sector can prepare for a future with CAVs.  A working Steering Committee comprised of MTO (lead agency), Metrolinx, City of Toronto, Region of Peel and WSP contributed in-kind and financial contributions.   Read more


2021 Mobility Award for Data Driven Transport Outcomes 

Electrical Maintenance Digital Logbook, City of Surrey

The Electrical Maintenance Digitla Logbook project is the winner of the 2021 Mobility Award for Data Driven Transport Outcomes. The digitalization of its roadway electrical maintenance activities is an initiative to capture better data using sustainable approaches. A System of Engagement was designed to collaborate with Surrey’s electrical maintenance contractor incorporating the collection, real-time visualization, analysis, and storage of this corporate dataset. Read more


2021 Mobility Award for Green Transportation

Advanced Bus Detection and Signal System, City of Burnaby

The Advanced Bus Detection and Signal System project is the winner of the 2021 Mobility Award for Green Transportation. At Metrotown, the City has recently installed a cutting-edge LiDAR-based technology to reduce bus delays at the Bus Loop entrance. Buses on 12 different routes arrive at this region’s second-busiest station adjacent to Metrotown Mall. Due to the lack of a separate turn lane, conventional camera detection of buses for left turn phasing was not feasible. TransLink partnered with the City to address this hot spot and enhance bus speed and reliability.  Read more


2021 Mobility Award for Smart Mobility - Connected Infrastructure

Emergency Vehicle Corridor Project, Kapsch TrafficCom

The Emergency Vehicle Corridor project is the winner of the 2021 Mobility Award for Smart Mobility - Connected Infrastructure. Kapsch delivered an emergency vehicle (EV) service corridor in Calgary, Alberta. The corridor comprises 16 contiguous intersections and uses Kapsch hybrid (DSRC/C-V2X) RIS-9260 roadside units (RSU) at the roadside, and Kapsch OBUs in EV firetrucks to enable emergency vehicle pre-emption services.  Read more


2021 Excellence in R&D Award

Digital Transformation of Transportation Infrastructure Projects using
LiDAR Technology and Artificial Intelligence, 
Nektar3D Consulting

The 2021 Excellence in R&D Award recipient is “Digital Transformation of Transportation Infrastructure Projects using LiDAR Technology and Artificial Intelligence" submitted by Nektar3D Consulting. In a single survey pass, while travelling at roadway speeds, a mobile LiDAR scanning system is capable of creating a detailed 3D representation of surrounding transportation infrastructure. Just like other forms of big data, processing LiDAR datasets and extracting useful information from them is extremely challenging. Read more

ITS Young Professional Award

Mr. Xin Chen, IBI Group

Xin Chen is the recipient of the 2021 ITS Canada Young Professional Award. Xin is an ITS Professional who has reached a level of maturity as an engineer that is well beyond what would be expected for someone of his age; he is only 28 year old! Read more



ITS LifeTime Member Award

Mr. Jeffrey Smart, Tacel

Mr. Jeffrey Smart of Tacel is the recipient of the 2021 ITS Canada Lifetime Member Award. Mr. Jeffrey J. Smart currently serves as Vice President for Tacel Ltd, where he has been employed since 1984. During this time at Tacel, he has participated in a number of ITS projects including the implementation of Advanced Traffic Management and Incident Detection Systems within Canada. Mr. Smart has been a Director for ITS Canada for approximately 15 years and has participated on a number of committees during this time. Jeff chairs the Exhibitor Advisory Committee of the ITS Canada annual conference and is also Chair of the Member Services Committee and sits on the Board of Directors of OTC. He is a long-standing member of the Ontario Chapter of IMSA. Read more


Thank you.

Usha Elyatamby
Chair 2021 Awards Program